Ray Hollings

The Ray Hollings Surgical Excellence Award aims to encourage and support consultant surgeons at RNSH to undertake quality improvement projects that support innovation, and improve service delivery and patient care.

Up to $10,000 will be offered each year to successful award recipients.

Applicants must:

  • Hold a recognised specialist qualification in Surgery, Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (FRACS)
  • Have a current clinical appointment within the RNSH and registration with AHPRA.
    Be affiliated with a surgical department within the Division of Surgery & Anaesthesia (note this excludes ICU, Anaesthesia, Pain Management and Trauma Services)
  • Be an employee of RNSH for a minimum of 12 months at the closing date of applications

Successful award recipients will:

  • Provide a report on completion of the quality improvement project via the SERT Institute;
  • Agree to participate in any formal recognition events relating to the Award as requested by the SERT Institute (e.g. CE award events, honour board ceremony, multimedia promotion);
  • Agree to publication of any promotional events.


  • The Award does not support individual or departmental professional development or education programs.
  • Applications will only be accepted from Surgical Consultants.

Applications for the award will close on midnight Monday 13 December, 2021.

Please contact the SERT Institute directly if you have any further questions or experience any technical difficulties at [email protected].

To see the full version of the Ray Hollings Surgical Excellence Award guidelines, please click here.

Loading... Loading...
You have selected an option that triggers this survey to end right now.
To save your responses and end the survey, click the 'End Survey' button below. If you have selected the wrong option by accident and/or wish to return to the survey, click the 'Return and Edit Response' button.